Citizens Certificate

EWS Certificate Eligibility and Application Process

5 min read

EWS Certificate: EWS, i.e., the Economically Weaker Section, is a subcategory of people in the general Category under India’s reservation system. The central govt of India introduced a bill named EWS Bill in 2019 to equal reservation rights to people with economically weaker backgrounds who do not fall under OBC, SC/ST categories. To get these equal reservation opportunities under EWS, people must get a certificate, which is known as an EWS certificate

EWS Certificate Eligibility and Application Process
EWS Certificate Eligibility and Application Process

What is EWS?

The Indian Parliament has enacted the 103rd Constitutional Amendment to implement a 10% reservation for the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) of the general Category in the year 2019 by amending Article 15 and Article 16 of the Constitution of India. This enactment enables both the Centre and States to provide reservations to the Economically Weaker Sections of the society. 

This reservation to the Economically Weaker Section from the general Category is given independently of the already existing 50% reservation for the backward classes (OBCs). This step has proved to be beneficial for the people who belong to the general Category but are not doing economically well. However, it is necessary to obtain an EWS Certificate to avail of the benefit of reservation under the EWS quota. 

In this article, we will discuss the eligibility criteria and the application process for obtaining an Economically Weaker Section Certificate. So, read the article carefully, and if you fulfil the criteria, apply for an EWS Certificate and avail the benefit of a reservation of 10% under the EWS quota.

Scheme NameEWS Reservation
Introduced byCentral Govt of India
Approved in2019
Certificate NameEWS Certificate
Eligible PeoplePeople of Economically weaker background
Benefits10% Reservation in higher education, Govt jobs & other Govt Schemes 
Application ModeOnline or offline
Certificate renewal intervalOne year

Economically Weaker Section Certificate Details

Benefits of Economically Weaker Section Certificate

Candidates of the EWS Category will get several benefits under the EWS reservation. Some of these benefits are as follows: 

  • The candidates holding an Economically Weaker Section Certificate are eligible to avail of the benefit of 10% reservation under the EWS quota while applying for admission to government institutions and employment opportunities in government institutions. 
  • Candidates of the EWS Category will get a 10% seat reservation in all universities accredited by UGC. 
  • Candidates of the EWS Category holding an EWS Certificate will get benefits from State and Central Government subsidy schemes. 

Required documents for EWS Certificate Application

The following documents are required to be attached to the application for the EWS Certificate: 

  • Identity Proof 
  • PAN Card
  • Family Income Certificate 
  • Domicile certificate
  • BPL Ration Card
  • Adhaar Card
  • Affidavit 
  • Passport size photograph
  • Land Certificate 

Application fee for EWS Certificate

The application fee for an Economically Weaker Section Certificate varies from state to state. It ranges from Rs.10 to Rs.50, along with the court fee of Rs.2. 

Who is eligible for an EWS Certificate?

To get an EWS certificate, a citizen will have to fulfil these eligibility criteria: 

  1. Applicants must belong to the General Category only (OBC, SC/ST Candidates are not eligible).
  2. The applicant’s annual family income must not be more than 8 Lakh rupees.
  3. Applicants should not own more than 5 acres of agricultural land, 1000 square feet of residential flats, or 100 square yards of residential plot.  

Note:- The land or property owned by the family in different places should be clubbed while checking the eligibility criteria for Economically Weaker Section Certificate

What is a family according to EWS Reservation rules?

According to EWS Reservation rules, the family includes the following:

  • The person seeking a reservation
  • His/her parents
  • His/her siblings below the age of 18 years of age
  • His/her spouse and children below the age of 18 years

Issuing Authorities of EWS Certificate

The following authorities are liable to issue EWS Certificates to economically weaker sections: 

✅ District Revenue Officer

District Magistrate 

  • Additional Deputy Commissioner
  • Sub-Divisional Magistrate
  • Additional District Magistrate
  • Deputy Commissioner
  • Collector
  • Taluka Magistrate
  • Executive Magistrate
  • Extra Assistant Commissioner
  • First Class Stipendiary Magistrate

✅ Other authorities:

  • Presidency Magistrate
  • Chief Presidency Magistrate
  • Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate

Step-by-step Process to apply for EWS Certificate

Step 1: Visit your nearest E-Mitra Kendra or official website of the Social Justice and Empowerment Department your state. EWS Application PDF

Step 2: Get/Download the application form for the Economically Weaker Section Certificate

Step 3: Fill out the application form and attach all the required documents. 

Step 4: Get 2 Gazetted Officers’ Signatures on the form as attestor. 

Step 5: Visit your nearby Tehsil Office and get the Signature of the Tehsildar or relevant officer on a Duly filled application form.

Step 6: Submit the application form at your nearest Tehsil or Block office. 

Step 7: The concerned authority will verify your documents. 

Step 8: Your EWS Certificate will be issued once the verification process is complete. 

Step 9: You can obtain your EWS Certificate from the concerned authority within 10-15 days of filling out the application form. 

Legal update on Economically Weaker Section Certificate

On November 7, 2022, the Supreme Court of India upheld the validity of the 103rd Constitutional Amendment Act, 2019, which introduced a 10% reservation to general category candidates coming from economically weaker sections. The Constitutional Bench set up by the Supreme Court upheld the decision by a 3:2 majority. 


Q. Who is eligible to apply for EWS Certificate?

Ans. Only the people who belong to the economically weaker section of the general category are eligible to apply for EWS Certificate. 

Q. How much time does it take to make an EWS Certificate?

Ans. Generally, it takes 10-15 days to make an EWS Certificate. 

Q. What is the validity period of EWS Certificate?

Ans. The EWS Certificate is valid for up to one year from the date of issuing. 

Q. What has to be done after the expiry of the validity period of the EWS Certificate?

Ans. One can apply for renewal of the EWS Certificate after the expiry of the validity period. 


In this article, we have discussed all the important aspects of the Economically Weaker Section Certificate and the step-by-step EWS Certificate Application Process. Hope this article is useful for you. For more such informative articles, keep visiting our website regularly. For the latest updates, please join our What’s App group and Telegram Channel. 

Jitendra Saini

My name is Jitendra. I'm a professional blogger and a Content Creator. Working in this field since 2018. I have expertise in blog writing, WP Design, SEO, and Social Media Mgt., etc.

Leave a Comment